Atlantic Journalism Award Winners

The Chronicle Herald was the biggest winner at the Atlantic Journalism Awards this year, walking away with four medals on May 3.

The Chronicle Herald was the biggest winner at the Atlantic Journalism Awards this year, walking away with four medals on May 3.

CBC Television Halifax won three awards. The Coast won two awards, as did individual journalists Doug Greer of CBC Television Corner Brook, and Sophie Desautels, of Radio-Canada Moncton.

The annual gala at the Marriott Hotel in Halifax was a slightly somber affair this year, with many still mourning the demise of the Daily News and layoffs at Global Television.

Photographer Ryan Taplin won the biggest applause of the evening when he picked up a medal for a feature photo that ran in the now-defunct Daily News.

“Anybody have $1 million?” he joked, referring to a story told by keynote speaker Linden MacIntyre about the launch of the Daily News more than 20 years ago.

MacIntyre began his career with the Chronicle Herald. Now a celebrated investigative journalist with CBC’s the fifth estate, MacIntyre told the crowd that he and other reporters used to dream about starting up another newspaper in Halifax. When one of their colleagues actually did start the Daily News, he said, the quality of all journalism in the city improved.

“It’s with great sadness that I speak about the closure of the Daily News,” said MacIntyre. “I always appreciated it when it was here.” MacIntyre went on to say that the closure of the paper was “a damn shame.”

Positives changes to the industry were also highlighted at the awards. Two winning stories were made possible only because of changes in newsgathering technology.

CBC Halifax’s winning story about Ernie Fage opened with cell phone video of the cabinet minister. Societe Radio-Canada Moncton won the Enterprise Reporting Television award for a report about soldiers in Iraq that relied on video footage from the Internet. The Atlantic Journalism Awards do not have a web or online journalism award category.

The event was hosted by Maria Panopalis, a former King’s student, and Progress Media Group President and Publisher Neville Gilfoy.

List of winners:

Spot News
Print: Tera Camus, the Chronicle Herald, Cape Breton Bureau, NS MD’s wife charged in double shooting. Radio: Donna Allen, CBC Radio Charlottetown, PEI Fire. TV (tie): CBC Television Newsroom Halifax, NS Ernie Fage and Global Maritimes, Gagetown Soldiers.

Enterprise Reporting
Print: Rob Antle, the Telegram, St. John’s, NL System Failure. Radio: Joan Weeks and Gary Mansfield, CBC Television Sydney NS Overdosing on Crime. TV: Sophie Desaultes and Denise Pelletier, Societe Radio-Canada Moncton, NB Soldats en Demande.

Continuing Coverage
Print: Rob Linke, the Telegraph Journal, St John NB Ashley Smith. Radio: Mark Quinnn, CBC Radio St. John’s NL, Flawed Cancer Tests. TV: Atlantic Journalism Awards, CBC Television, Halifax, NS Ernie Fage

Feature Writing
Print: Lezlie Lowe, the Coast, Halifax, NS Chasing Amy. Radio: Myfanwy Davies, CBC Radio Fredericton, NB The Boy Who Never Returned. TV: Sophie Desaultes and Denise Pelletier, Societe Radio-Canada, Moncton, NB Alexandre le Grand.

Atlantic Magazine
Best Article: Philip Lee, Saltscapes Magazine, Dartmouth, NS Sold! Best Cover: Buddhadharma Spring 2007, Halifax, NS Ouch! Best Profile: Eleanor Beaton, Atlantic Business Magazine, St. John’s NL What’s Up with Mickey?

Sports Reporting: Robin Short, the Telegram, St. John’s, NL Gushue team break-up

Arts and Entertainment: Sue Carter-Flinn, the Coast, Halifax, NS George Steeves profile

Commentary: Dan Leger, the Chronicle Herald, Halifax, NS The Atlantic Accords: Time for Truth-Telling

VideoJournalist: Doug Greer, CBC Television, Corner Brook, BL Show of work

Spot News Photojournalism
Print: Christian LaForce, the Chronicle Herald, Halifax, NS Protestors clash with police. TV: Doug Greer, CBC Television, Corner Brook, NL Landslide

Feature Photojournalism
Print: Ryan Taplin, the Daily News, Halifax, NS Brothers bound for battle. TV: Eric Woolisscroft, CBC Television Halifax, NS Karen Furneaux.

Editorial Cartooning
Bruce MacKinnon, the Chronicle Herald, Halifax, NS Show of work

The Jim MacNeil New Journalist Award
Bill van Asperen, CBC Television, Charlotteotwn, PEI.